FAQs

A vintage-style lightbulb is hanging in the foreground of the picture, in the background there are several other lightbulbs.

A vintage-style lightbulb is hanging in the foreground of the picture, in the background there are several other lightbulbs.
Image Credit: CC0 https://unsplash.com/photos/Bb9jWuTMPUk

You can find a short overview and bibliographies on gender- and diversity conscious language in German under Sprache in the Starter-Kit

On the Methods page, you will find advice about difference stages of a lesson.

For more practice and exercise opportunities, there are continuing education programs for university teaching, as offered by SUPPORT für die Lehre at Freie Universität Berlin and by the Berlin Center for Higher Education at Technische Universität Berlin.

In the Pool of Methods section of the Methods page, you will find collections of teaching methods subdivided into general methods and methods with a special focus on gender and diversity.

You can check whether these are suitable using the Reflection on Methods.


You can find methods with a special focus on gender and diversity in the Pool of Methods.

You can check whether these are appropriate using the Reflection on Methods.

The Margherita von Brentano Center at Freie Universität Berlin periodically offers a Training Course in Intersectional Teaching.

This situation might sound familiar:
During discussions, when you ask questions, and when handing in assignments, certain students speak up often while others speak up rarely or never.

Reserved behavior in learning environments can have various causes:
Students might still be thinking about a question. They might be thinking about something else entirely. They might be missing certain information. They might be very bored or frustrated with the situation. Perhaps the assignment’s objective does not match your students’ own learning objectives or motivations. Perhaps they do not want to speak up in front of a large group. Perhaps they think their own thoughts are incorrect or immature.

Possible solutions:

Group work:
Group work counters students’ fears of speaking in front of a large group. Some students find it easier to talk in a smaller group than in front of the entire class. Also, the lecturer (you) is not always present, which students might find liberating.
Important: Make sure that everyone in the small group truly has a chance to speak, for example by assigning rotating spokespeople, by occasionally visiting each group and offering support, or by raising the issue of equal participation at the beginning of the group work section and including this as a topic when evaluating the group work.
Whisper sessions:
Whisper sessions are mini-group conversations between people sitting next to each other. These often arise spontaneously and informally, so lecturers tend to perceive them as disruptive “background noise.” However, you can also employ them intentionally after presenting a topic or posing a larger question. This gives students a chance to “rehearse” their spontaneous ideas, questions, and criticisms with other students before discussing them with the class at large. Students who are generally reserved often feel more comfortable speaking in public after a whisper session. This way, all students get a chance to think through what they want to say in advance. Whisper sessions engage students and lead to more diverse and often higher-quality comments. (Whisper sessions)

 


More at:

Didactic Principles

Perhaps you recognize this situation as well:
During discussions, when you ask questions, and when handing out assignments, the same students always speak up. Some of them speak at great length whenever they contribute or even interrupt others. Often, ideas that other students expressed previously are ignored or paraphrased. People who are more reserved fade into the background, which can have an effect on lecturers’ impression of them and therefore the grades they assign them.

Dominant behavior in learning environments can have various causes: People who behave dominantly might perceive themselves as competing with their classmates and try to win you over by gaining the rhetorical upper hand over the others. Perhaps they want special recognition and validation for their comments. Perhaps they are used to giving lengthier contributions in other contexts, or are used to taking, or receiving, more space. Perhaps they do not notice that other students would like to speak or have already contributed to solving the problem.

Possible solutions:

Transparency:
To resolve everyone’s unclear expectations at the beginning of the course, it is helpful to openly discuss students’ learning expectations and set your own expectations of students’ performance as the lecturer. If you make it clear that it is important to you as a lecturer for everyone to have a chance to speak and for talking time to be divided fairly, this can help balance contributions.
Talking queue:
Talking queues are a tool for structuring a discussion during frontal teaching or group discussions and for reordering the students’ comments. In this system, the lecturer writes down the name of every person who raises their hand. Contributions do not necessarily have to follow the order in which people have put their hands up. The order can be determined based on other criteria that you have explained transparently in advance. With “first-time queues,” for instance, you can give priority to the first comments from people who have not spoken yet and then call on students who are speaking for the second or third time. Another option is to use queues with quotas, in which specific diversity categories are considered in a specific ratio (such as 50:50) when deciding who to call on next. This is a form of affirmative action. A queue should always be announced and explained. Keeping a queue gives you an opportunity to talk about unequal speaking time. It is helpful if everyone knows that this is not about giving certain people preference, but about compensating for an existing imbalance in participation.
Group discussions and whisper sessions are also active measures for equalizing talking time.

The Discipline-Specific Entry Points page includes specific suggestions and tips about gender- and diversity-conscious research and teaching for several disciplines.

Here are some additional databases and collections you can use:

  • Gender curricula for bachelor’s and master’s programs from the Women's and Gender Research Network NRW. (link)
  • Database of specialist literature about gender from the Women's and Gender Research Network NRW. (link)
  • The Gender Studies Repository of the Freie Universität Berlin (link), Humboldt Universität zu Berlin (link – in German), and the Technische Universität Berlin.
  • List of various open-access Gender Studies databases. (link)

The Margherita von Brentano Center at Freie Universität Berlin periodically offers a Training Course in Intersectional Teaching and regularly post event announcements on Facebook and Twitter.

There is a comprehensive collection of resources regarding gender, diversity, and (anti-) discrimination at Freie Universität Berlin and elsewhere on the Resources page.

SUPPORT für die Lehre offers continuing training courses at Freie Universität Berlin for university lecturers of all disciplines. You can find additional programs at the Berlin Center for Higher Education.

The Resources page includes a collection of continuing training courses for university lecturers outside Freie Universität Berlin.

As an employee of Freie Universität Berlin, you are protected against workplace discrimination by the General Equal Treatment Act (Allgemeines Gleichbehandlungsgesetz, AGG) in all categories designated in the AGG. Your point of contact for these matters is Freie Universität Berlin AGG Complaints Office:

The employee complaints office under Section 13 of the General Equal Treatment Act (Allgemeines Gleichbehandlungsgesetz, AGG)

Henrik Hauer
Telephone: +49 (030) 838-551 26
Fax: +49 (030) 838-455126

Students at Freie Universität may also contact the AGG Complaints Office or the Staff Representatives for any issue related to work as a student assistant. For other issues, students may solicit the advisory services of Freie Universität Student Union (Allgemeiner Studierendenausschuss, AStA – website in German), the Technische Universität General Students’ Committee (AStA), or the General Students' Committee of the Humboldt-Universität (Referent*innenrat – website in German).


In cases of sexualized discrimination or violence, Freie Universität Berlin Guideline on Handling Sexualized Discrimination and Violence governs the response. On its website Nein heißt Nein (No means No) Freie Universität Berlin offers extensive information on the subject (website in German). The departmental gender equality officers and the chief gender equality officer, along with the staff representatives, are your first points of contact.


Advice for students with disabilities and chronic illnesses is available from multiple sources at Freie Universität Berlin.


You can find additional advisory services and points of contact for people who have experienced discrimination under Resources.

In the course of normal university life, conflicts can emerge in various contexts, such as performance requirements and grades, communication in a seminar, good academic practice, the role of intellectual property and copyright, and power relationships in academic supervision, but also in the contexts of abuse and bullying. Advisory resources do not exist for all types of conflict and categories of employees at Freie Universität Berlin.

Employees of Freie Universität Berlin can take advantage of the programs of the Continuing Education Center (Weiterbildungszentrum - link in German) for training courses in conflict resolution.

The Dahlem Resource School offers counseling and support in addressing conflict situations in the research process, among other issues. This is primarily designed for doctoral researchers at the Dahlem Research School but is also available to other doctoral candidates at Freie Universität Berlin.

Advice and further training for professors at W2 level and above in conflict resolution and other topics is offered by the Dahlem Leadership Academy.

Students with individual questions can turn to the Center for Academic Advising and Psychological Counseling as well as the advisory resources of Freie Universität Student Union (Allgemeiner Studierendenausschuss, AStA – website in German).

You can find both Freie Universität internal as well as external training possibilities and advisory services under Resources.

Participating in events and activities, such as training courses, is a good way to build your network. You can also connect with people at your academic department and beyond by reaching out to your colleagues and proactively networking.

Members of the quality assurance staff in each department often create opportunities for colleagues to meet, for example by organizing local training programs, as at the Department of Political and Social Sciences. You can also approach the departmental gender equality officers if you specifically would like to address gender and diversity.

SUPPORT für die Lehre offers particular advice and support about the use of “reflection formats” among colleagues.

Gender and diversity can be seen as an asset to you and the students you work with:

Everyone benefits from an anxiety-free atmosphere in which everyone can teach and learn.

Nevertheless, coming to terms with gender and diversity in teaching takes time as well as a certain amount of perseverance and comfort with conflict. It is useful to be aware that although you have your own scope for action, you do not bear sole responsibility.

Lecturers cannot be expected to create a gender- and diversity-conscious environment on their own. This requires the support of supervisors, HR managers, and all members of the university.

Get in touch with the people involved with gender and diversity at Freie Universität Berlin, either in person or through mailing lists, social media groups, or the Margherita von Brentano Center Data Directories (in German). Engage your colleagues and supervisors in conversation and participate in initiatives aiming to raise awareness for gender and diversity at the university.


Version April 2017. Unless otherwise stated, this content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International licence

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

FAQ - Häufig gestellte Fragen

Eine altmodische große Glühbirne hängt im Vordergrund des Bilds, im Hintergrund hängen andere Glühbirnen.

Eine altmodische große Glühbirne hängt im Vordergrund des Bilds, im Hintergrund hängen andere Glühbirnen.
Bildquelle: CC0 https://unsplash.com/photos/Bb9jWuTMPUk

Einen kurzen Überblick und vertiefende Literaturhinweise zu gender- und diversitätsbewusster Sprache finden Sie im Starter-Kit unter Sprache.

Auf der Seite Methoden finden Sie Hinweise zu verschiedenen Phasen einer Lehrveranstaltung.

Weitere Übungs- und Erprobungsmöglichkeiten bieten hochschuldidaktische Weiterbildungsangebote, wie sie an der Freien Universität Berlin von SUPPORT für die Lehre und dem Berliner Zentrum für Hochschuldidaktik an der Technischen Universität Berlin angeboten werden.

Im Abschnitt Methodenpool auf der Seite Methoden finden Sie Sammlungen von didaktischen Methoden, aufgegliedert in allgemeine Methoden und Methoden mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt im Bereich von Gender und Diversity.

Sie können diese anhand der Methodenreflexion auf ihre Eignung prüfen.


Methoden mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt im Bereich von Gender und Diversity finden Sie im Methodenpool.

Sie können diese anhand der Methodenreflexion auf ihre Eignung prüfen.

Das Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum der FU Berlin bietet regelmäßig eine Weiterbildung zu intersektionaler Lehre an.

Vielleicht kennen Sie diese Situation:
In Diskussionen, bei Abfragen und bei der Vergabe von Aufgaben melden sich bestimmte Studierende häufig, andere hingegen selten oder nie.

Zurückhaltung in Lehrsituationen kann verschiedene Gründe haben:
Die Studierenden denken noch länger über eine Frage nach, sie sind mit den Gedanken woanders, ihnen fehlen noch bestimmte Informationen, sie sind vom Geschehen besonders gelangweilt oder sehr angestrengt, die Zielsetzung der Aufgabe entspricht nicht der Zielsetzung/Lernmotivation der Studierenden, sie möchten nicht vor einer großen Gruppe sprechen oder halten die eigenen Gedanken für falsch oder unausgereift...

Lösungsmöglichkeiten:

Gruppenarbeit
Mit Gruppenarbeit kann vor allem einer Redeangst vor Großgruppen begegnet werden: In der kleineren Gruppe können einige Studierende leichter sprechen als vor dem Plenum, zudem sind Sie als Lehrperson nicht ständig präsent, was von Studierenden auch als Freiraum erlebt werden kann.
Wichtig: Achten Sie darauf, dass in der Kleingruppe wirklich alle die Möglichkeit haben, zu sprechen, etwa, indem Sie rotierende Sprecher*innenrollen vorgeben, zwischenzeitlich die Gruppe aufsuchen und Ihre Unterstützung anbieten, oder zu Beginn der Gruppenarbeitsphase auf gleichberechtigte Beteiligung hinweisen und dies auch als Thema in die Evaluationsphase der Gruppenarbeit aufgreifen.
Murmelrunden
‚Murmelrunden’ sind Kleinstgruppengespräche zwischen Sitznachbar*innen. Sie ergeben sich häufig spontan und informell, und werden von Lehrenden oft als „Hintergrundrauschen” und Störung der Lehrveranstaltung wahrgenommen. Sie lassen sich jedoch auch gezielt einsetzen, um Studierenden nach einem Input oder im Anschluss an eine größere Fragestellung die Möglichkeit zu geben, ihre spontanen Ideen, Fragen und Kritik zunächst mit anderen Studierenden ‚vorzubesprechen’, bevor sie im Plenum diskutiert werden. Zum Einen fühlen sich Studierende, die eher zurückhaltend sind, nach Murmelrunden oft eher in der Lage, vor anderen zu sprechen. Außerdem haben so alle Studierenden die Möglichkeit, ihre Redebeiträge zunächst zu durchdenken. Murmelrunden aktivieren die Studierenden und führen zu vielfältigeren und oft qualitativ besseren Wortbeiträgen. Hier (S.55) finden Sie mehr zu Murmelrunden.

Mehr dazu unter:

Didaktische Prinzipien

Vielleicht ist Ihnen auch diese Situation vertraut:
In Diskussionen, bei Abfragen und bei der Vergabe von Aufgaben melden sich immer die gleichen Personen zu Wort. Einige von ihnen sprechen zudem bei jeder Meldung sehr lang, oder fallen anderen ins Wort. Häufig werden auch Gedanken, die andere Studierende zuvor schon geäußert haben, ignoriert und noch einmal formuliert. Personen, die zurückhaltender sind, treten dabei in den Hintergrund, was Auswirkungen auf ihre Wahrnehmung durch Dozent*innen und damit auf die Notengebung haben kann.

Dominantes Auftreten in Lehrsituationen kann verschiedene Gründe haben: Die dominant auftretenden Personen sehen sich möglicherweise in einer Konkurrenzsituation mit Kommiliton*innen, die sie versuchen, für sich zu entscheiden, indem sie sich sprachlich gegen Andere durchsetzen. Vielleicht möchten sie mit ihren Meldungen in besonderer Weise wahrgenommen werden und zur Geltung kommen. Vielleicht sind sie es aus anderen Kontexten gewöhnt, dass ihre Beiträge auch in langer Form erwünscht sind. Oder sie sind daran gewöhnt, sich immer Raum zu nehmen bzw. zu bekommen. Vielleicht bemerken sie nicht, dass andere Studierende auch gerne reden würden, oder schon Beiträge zur Problemlösung beigesteuert haben.

Lösungsmöglichkeiten:

Transparenz:
Um unklare Erwartungen auf allen Seiten zu klären ist es hilfreich, zu Beginn der Lehrveranstaltung die Lernerwartungen auf Seiten der Studierenden sowie die Leistungserwartungen auf Seiten der Dozent*innen transparent zu machen. Wenn Sie deutlich machen, dass es Ihnen als Dozent*in wichtig ist, dass alle zu Wort kommen können und Redeanteile fair verteilt sind, kann dies einen tatsächlichen Ausgleich von Beiträgen begünstigen.
Redelisten:
Redelisten sind ein Instrument, in frontalen Lehrgesprächen oder Gruppendiskussionen die Diskussion zu strukturieren und Beiträge in eine neue Reihenfolge zu bringen. Dabei werden alle Personen, die sich melden, durch die Lehrperson wahrgenommen und notiert. Der Wortbeitrag erfolgt aber nicht unbedingt nach Reihenfolge ihrer Meldung, sondern nach anderen, zuvor transparent gemachten Kriterien. Es gibt mit sogenannten ‚Erstredelisten’ beispielsweise die Möglichkeit, erste Beiträge von Personen, die sich bis dahin noch nicht gemeldet haben, vorzuziehen, und Zweit- oder Drittmeldung erst danach aufzurufen. Eine weitere Möglichkeit sind quotierte Redelisten, bei denen bestimmte Diversitykategorien im Sinne ‚positiver Maßnahmen’ in einem bestimmten Verhältnis (z.B. 50:50) beim Aufrufen berücksichtigt werden. Eine Redeliste sollte in jedem Fall angekündigt und erklärt werden. Sie zu führen bietet die Gelegenheit, über ungleiche Redeanteile zu sprechen. Es ist hilfreich, wenn alle wissen, dass es nicht darum geht, zu bevorzugen, sondern ein bestehendes Ungleichgewicht in der Beteiligung auszugleichen.
Gruppendiskussion und Murmelrunden bieten sich als aktivierende Maßnahmen zum Ausgleich von Redezeitanteilen ebenfalls an.

Auf der Seite Fachspezifische Zugänge finden Sie für einige Fächer spezifische Anregungen und Hinweise zu gender- und diversitätsbewusster Forschung und Lehre.

Datenbanken und Sammlungen, die Sie darüber hinaus nutzen können, sind:

Das Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum der Freien Universität Berlin bietet in jedem Semester eine Weiterbildung zu intersektionaler Lehre an und auf den Facebook und Twitter Accounts vom MvBZ finden Sie regelmäßig Veranstaltungshinweise.

Eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Angeboten zu Gender, Diversity und (Anti-)Diskriminierung an der Freien Universität Berlin und darüber hinaus finden Sie auf der Ressourcen-Seite.

SUPPORT für die Lehre bietet an der Freien Universität Berlin hochschuldidaktische Weiterbildungskurse für Lehrende aller Fachrichtungen. Weitere Angebote finden Sie an dem Berliner Zentrum für Hochschuldidaktik.

Eine Sammlung von hochschuldidaktischen Weiterbildungsangeboten über die Freie Universität Berlin hinaus finden Sie auf der Ressourcen-Seite.

Als Angestellte*r der Freien Universität Berlin sind Sie durch das Allgemeine Gleichbehandlungsgesetz vor Diskriminierung am Arbeitsplatz entlang der im AGG genannten Kategorien geschützt. Ihre Anlaufstelle ist hier die AGG-Beschwerdestelle an der Freien Universität Berlin:

Beschwerdestelle für Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter gemäß § 13 Allgemeines Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (AGG)

Henrik Hauer
Telefon: (030) 838-551 26
Telefax: (030) 838-455126

Studierende der Freien Universität können sich für Anliegen, die mit einer Beschäftigung als Studentische Hilfskraft zu tun haben, ebenfalls an die AGG-Beschwerdestelle oder die Personalvertretungen wenden. Mit weiteren Anliegen können sich Studierende an die Beratungsangebote des AStA der Freien Universität, sowie an den AStA der Technischen Universität und den Referent*innenrat der Humboldt Universität wenden.


In Fällen sexualisierter Diskriminierung und Gewalt regelt die Richtlinie zum Umgang mit sexualisierter Diskriminierung und Gewalt der Freien Universität Berlin das Vorgehen. Auf der Website Nein heißt Nein stellt die Freie Universität Berlin umfassende Informationen zu unterschiedlichen Formen sexualisierter Diskriminierung und Gewalt, Beratungsangeboten und rechtlichen Grundlagen zur Verfügung. Die Frauenbeauftragten der Fachbereiche und die Zentrale Frauenbeauftragte stehen mit den Personalvertretungen als erste Ansprechpartner*innen zur Verfügung.


Beratung für beHinderte Studierende und Studierende mit chronischen Erkrankungen bieten an der Freien Universität Berlin mehrere Stellen an.


Weitere Beratungs- und Anlaufstellen für Menschen mit Diskriminierungserfahrungen finden Sie in den Ressourcen.

Im wissenschaftlichen Alltag kann es in verschiedenen Kontexten zu Konflikten kommen, z.B. zu Leistungsanforderungen und Benotungen, zur Kommunikation im Seminar, zu guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis, dem Umgang mit geistigem Eigentum und Urheberschaft, Machtbeziehungen in Betreuungsverhältnissen, aber auch im Kontext von Übergriffen und Mobbing. Nicht für alle Konfliktfälle und Mitarbeitende gibt es an der Freien Universität Berlin Beratungsmöglichkeiten.

Mitarbeiter*innen der Freien Universität Berlin können für Weiterbildungen zum Umgang mit Konflikten das Angebot des Weiterbildungszentrums nutzen.

Ein Beratungsangebot, das sich in erster Linie an Promovierende der Dahlem Research School richtet, aber auch von anderen Promovierenden an der Freien Universität Berlin genutzt werden kann, und unter anderem Konfliktsituationen im Forschungsprozess adressiert, bietet die Dahlem Research School.

Beratung und Weiterbildung für Professor*innen ab W2-Niveau, unter anderem zu Konfliktlösung, bietet die Dahlem Leadership Academy.

Studierende können sich mit einigen Fragen an die Studienberatung und Psychologische Beratung wenden, sowie an die Beratungsangebote des Allgemeinen Studierenden Ausschusses (AStA).

Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten und Beratungsstellen innerhalb und außerhalb der Freien Universität Berlin finden Sie unter Ressourcen.


Literatur:

AG Lehre. 2016. Diskriminierungskritische Lehre. Denkanstöße aus den Gender Studies. Hg. Geschäftsstelle des Zentrums für transdisziplinäre Geschlechterstudien der Humboldt-Universiät zu Berlin.

Schumacher, Eva-Maria. 2011. Schwierige Situationen in der Lehre: Methoden der Kommunikation und Didaktik für die Lehrpraxis. 1. Aufl. Opladen [u.a.]: Budrich.

Netzwerke ergeben sich oft aus dem gemeinsamen Besuch von Veranstaltungen (z.B. Weiterbildungen). Sie können sie aber auch selbst an ihren Fachbereichen oder darüber hinaus bilden, indem Sie Kolleg*innen ansprechen und sich selbstständig vernetzen.

Oft sind die Mitarbeiter*innen der Qualitätssicherung an den Fachbereichen gute Ansprechpartner*innen, wenn es darum geht, Angebote für den kollegialen Austausch zu schaffen, z.B. durch die Organisation lokaler Weiterbildungsangebote, wie zum Beispiel am Fachbereich Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften. Sie können auch die dezentralen Frauenbeauftragten ansprechen, wenn Sie spezifisch Gender und Diversity thematisieren möchten.

SUPPORT für die Lehre bietet eine spezielle Beratung und Unterstützung bei der Anwendung kollegialer Reflexionsformate.

Gender und Diversity in der Lehre sollen für Sie und für die Studierenden, mit denen Sie arbeiten, ein Zugewinn sein:

Von einer Atmosphäre, in der alle ohne Angst lehren und lernen können, profitieren alle.

Dennoch erfordert eine Auseinandersetzung mit Gender und Diversity in der Lehre Zeit und manchmal auch eine gewisse Beharrlichkeit und Konfliktfreude. Dabei ist es hilfreich, sich bewusst zu machen, dass Sie zwar eigene Handlungsspielräume haben, aber nicht die alleinige Verantwortung tragen.

Mit der Aufgabe, ein gender- und diversitätsbewusstes Umfeld zu schaffen, können Lehrende nicht alleine gelassen werden: Sie erfordert die Unterstützung von Vorgesetzten, Personalverantwortlichen und allen Mitgliedern der Universität.

Nehmen Sie persönlich oder beispielsweise über Rundmails, Social-Media-Gruppen oder über die Datensammlungen des MvBZ Kontakt auf mit Akteur*innen im Bereich von Gender und Diversity an der Freien Universität Berlin. Suchen Sie das Gespräch mit Kolleg*innen und Vorgesetzten, und beteiligen Sie sich an Initiativen, die an der Universität ein Bewusstsein für Gender und Diversity schaffen wollen.



Version April 2017. Soweit nicht anders gekennzeichnet, ist dieses Werk unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung-Weitergabe unter gleichen Bedingungen 4.0 International Lizenz lizensiert.